أخبار LIBERO

تعمل LIBERO على تحسين واجهة OAI-PMH لتحسين العمليات بين المكتبات

OAI-PMH LIBERO

 

تستفيد مكتبات LIBERO الآن من واجهة OAI-PMH المحسّنة (بروتوكول مبادرة الأرشيفات المفتوحة لجمع البيانات الوصفية). نتيجة لذلك ، يمكن لأمناء المكتبات توفير الوقت وتقليل عبء العمل عليهم.

مبادرة الأرشيف المفتوح

تم تطوير OAI-PMH في عام 2001 من قبل مبادرة المحفوظات المفتوحة ، وهو الأساس لشبكة اكتشاف المعلومات على أساس النقل الجماعي للبيانات الوصفية من نظام إلى آخر في شبكة من أنظمة المعلومات.

اعتمدت LIBERO البروتوكول في عام 2015 للسماح للمكتبات بتوفير الوصول بسلاسة إلى الإضافات والتغييرات والحذف الجديدة إلى قاعدة البيانات حسب الحاجة ، مما يوفر لمقدمي الخدمات أحدث المعلومات حول الكتب والمجلات ومجموعات التاريخ المحلي أو أنواع أخرى من مواد.

عمليات بين المكتبات المعجلة

مع التحسينات التي أدخلتها LIBERO على واجهة OAI-PMH ، أصبحت العمليات بين المكتبات مبسطة وتسريعًا. نتيجة لذلك ، يمكن لمكتبات LIBERO الآن كشف المزيد من البيانات الوصفية من نظامها بشكل أسرع دون إثقال كاهلها. تسمح تحسينات الأداء التي أجراها مطورو LIBERO لمقدمي الخدمات بحصاد قواعد بيانات LIBERO متوسطة الحجم (أقل من 500,000 سجل كتالوج) في غضون دقيقة واحدة.

أثبت OAI-PMH أنه مفيد بشكل خاص للإعارة بين المكتبات. يسمح للمكتبات بتحديد موقع العناصر المطلوبة وتوجيه طلبات الإعارة بين المكتبات إلى المكتبة حيث تتوفر المواد. ولذلك فإن رسائل البريد الإلكتروني غير الضرورية إلى المكتبات التي لا تحتفظ بالمواد أصبحت شيئًا من الماضي.

بالنسبة للمكتبات التي لا تريد التقاط عناصر معينة ، يوجد أيضًا خيار في LIBERO لاستبعاد الفروع أو المجموعات أو أوصاف حالة العنصر من الحصاد. على سبيل المثال ، هذا مفيد للمكتبات التي تعمل على مجموعة جديدة لا ترغب بعد في مشاركتها مع نظام آخر بسبب فقدان البيانات الوصفية.

يعد دعم OAI-PMH مجرد واحدة من الميزات التي لا تعد ولا تحصى التي تميز LIBERO عن العديد من منصات خدمات المكتبة الأخرى. قد يقيد النظام الذي لا يدعم OAI-PMH قدرة المكتبات على مشاركة أو تجميع البيانات مع شركاء الصناعة.

يدعم LIBERO بروتوكول OAI والعديد من المعايير الأخرى ، بما في ذلك Z39.50 و SRU ، التي تستخدمها المكتبات العامة والأكاديمية والخاصة في جميع أنحاء العالم.

LIBERO News

LIBERO Improves OAI-PMH Interface to Optimise Interlibrary Processes

OAI-PMH LIBERO

 

LIBERO libraries now benefit from an improved OAI-PMH (Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting) interface. As a result, librarians can save time and reduce their workload.

Open Archives Initiative

Developed in 2001 by the Open Archives Initiative, OAI-PMH is the foundation for an information discovery network based on the bulk transfer of metadata from one system to another in a network of information systems.

LIBERO adopted the Protocol in 2015 to allow libraries to seamlessly provide access to new additions, changes and deletions to the database as needed, providing service providers with the most up-to-date information on books, journals, local history collections or other types of material.

Accelerated Interlibrary Processes

With the improvements LIBERO made to their OAI-PMH interface, interlibrary processes now are simplified and accelerated. As a result, LIBERO libraries can now expose more metadata from their system faster without overburdening it. The performance improvements made by LIBERO Developers allow service providers to harvest medium-sized LIBERO databases (less than 500,000 catalogue records) within one minute.

OAI-PMH has proved particularly useful for interlibrary loans. It allows libraries to locate needed items and direct interlibrary loan requests to the library where the material is available. Unnecessary emails to libraries that do not hold the material are therefore a thing of the past.

For libraries that do not want certain items captured, there is also the option in LIBERO to exclude branches, collections or item status descriptions from the harvest. For instance, this is beneficial for libraries working on a new collection that they do not yet want to share with another system because of missing metadata.

OAI-PMH support is just one of the countless features that differentiate LIBERO from many other Library Services Platforms. A system that does not support OAI-PMH may constrain a libraries ability to share or aggregate data with industry partners.

LIBERO supports the OAI protocol and many other standards, including Z39.50 and SRU, used by public, academic and special libraries worldwide.